Why do all back items have to be capes?

90 Orc Warrior
I got my Honorary Brewmaster Keg the other day after getting some friends to do The Perfect Pour with me and the first thing one my friends says is "It would be awesome if that was a transmog for a back item instead of an on use." He was right too, but it made me think, why is it that we only have capes for back items?

There's a whole range of items out there that show things on your back that aren't weapons or shields, the aforementioned keg, the Jet Pack from the ship fight in ICC, the gas mask from Love is in the air all jump to mind, but you can't really use them as apart of any armor set. And yet the back socket isn't called "Cape" or "cloak" it's "back".

Why haven't back items branched out in all of this time? Why can't we have jet packs, kegs, permanent back mounted-shields, flags, spine-protectors? Capes, frankly, suck, and there are all of two general models: a tiny bib, and the longer thin cape. Where are the huge flowing capes that, and this is the first thing that comes to mind, you would see Spawn or Batman wearing?
Reply Quote
100 Night Elf Druid
Genius!
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Monk
It would be nice to get some actual cloaks.
Reply Quote
90 Undead Warlock
It'd certainly be nice to have a skull banner, or at least a banner (similar to the old Japanese clan flag) to display whatever you want.
Edited by Jakkhel on 2/16/2013 7:15 PM PST
Reply Quote
90 Draenei Monk
I have a sword with eyebrows on my back. Does that count?
Reply Quote
100 Night Elf Rogue
If i had a cloak i would be so happy...now if only i could get a [Legitimate Saber of the Light]
Reply Quote
90 Orc Warrior
02/16/2013 07:15 PMPosted by Lena
I have a sword with eyebrows on my back. Does that count?
No, not really or at all. Everything we can wear on our backs are just towels with designs on them, and as much as I appreciate always having a towel there really should be more selection.
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Hunter