Am I ready to tank LFR?

90 Human Death Knight
Hi, I have been playing wow since the beginning, but this is the first year I have been tanking. On this DK, I have been face rolling heroics (seems I see healers smile when I zone in). I have been watching tons of you tube fight strategies. I have been reading every thread I can on LFR and boss strategy.

If I am geared enough, my next question would be,

How do you communicate with fellow tanks, when all in raid are " go go go, zoom zoom"?
Who decides role for each encounter?

Thank you, ANY sage advice is welcome.

P.S. I have found new life in this game with tanking, and when I do DPS or heal, I respect tanks even more!
Edited by Runesoul on 2/27/2013 3:32 PM PST
Reply Quote
02/27/2013 03:27 PMPosted by Runesoul
If I am geared enough

Item level 460 is geared enough for LFR; your gear is fine.

02/27/2013 03:27 PMPosted by Runesoul
How do you communicate with fellow tanks

Whisper the other tank, say "it's my first time tanking LFR, can you give me advice?"

If she doesn't answer, say it to raid chat in general: "it's my first time tanking LFR, can someone give advice?"

Watching videos was good; asking for in-game advice will help smooth any final bumps.
Reply Quote
90 Human Warrior
Inushi gave some good advice. The only time it doesn't work is when the other tank responds, "It's my first time here as well". Lol! I know because it happened to me. If that happens, contact the RL for advice.

Odds are, though, the other tank will have multiple runs and very willing to explain things to you. Since I've started tanking LFR this patch, I rarely dps anymore. In fact, I'm looking forward to primarily tanking the new patch.
Reply Quote
90 Human Warrior
Or, run through LFR in dps mode but contact the tanks and ask their advice on all boss fights. Jot the notes down and give it a whirl as tank.
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Monk