A tribute to ANZACS

Anyone who's played wow long enough has experienced one if not many guild break up experiences. Prestigious guilds often dissolve, for good or for bad its always upsetting to watch the process unfold in front of you and worse yet if you're involved.

If you've been on Eitrigg long enough you'll no doubt know the name ANZACS. But few know the history of the guild. For years ANZACS has been a linchpin in Eitrigg's community. The guild was founded in October 2006 by Tui and by the time i started playing in 2008 ANZACS had already become a household name. In a time where Raiding on Eitrigg thrived ANZACS and its members could proudly call themselves a top 5 raiding guild.

While managing hundreds of members and organizing a multitude of events Tui and her officers made the guild into a community in its own right and gave both the casual and hardcore members a banner they could be proud to wave while progressing through multiple expansions and content. Though great as ANZACS had become, no guild, no community for that matter are immune to the clash of personalities that come with any collection of people under one banner.

One could argue that the guilds success was its own downfall. Success draws talent and often talent breeds ego. Particular members of the guilds main progression group lacked confidence in Tuis abilities as a raider. Thinking themselves elite and too good for her, they proceeded to alienate and mock her until she, without the support from those she called her friends and officers, lost confidence in herself. Feeling alone, unconfident and betrayed, Tui promoted Gnipon to gm and left the guild in May 2012.