Hoping for advice with guild

82 Human Mage
I know this is guild and raid management, but I feel like you guys are probably the best equipped to give me advice on this topic. I apologize in advance if this is outside the scope of your forum.

I started playing WoW again in December after skipping Cata, and joined a guild at the end of December that raids two days a week. The core group of raiders including myself is nine people who min/max to some extent, read boss strats, and generally are pretty good about learning mechanics. Unfortunately, virtually every raid night one or two of the dps aren't able to make it, and sometimes the tank's job calls him away randomly. Usually we have to fill in two or three spots with pugs or random people we convinced to join the guild the other day. And usually I end up wishing we just raided with seven or eight people. However, these raids are tuned for ten people, so needless to say, progression is lackluster.

I just think it's a waste of time to have two or three unknown quantities die to attenuation every time and make what seems to be a fairly straightforward fight a lot harder. I don't want to tread on toes, but I inquire about our recruitment every now and then and usually just get a "we're working on it." We have no posts in our realm forums and I never see anything in trade chat, though I'm not on too often. The guild touts itself as pretty casual, so people don't get benched if they die on attenuation every time. Our guild is very small, and there aren't a lot of pugs, so who would we replace them with anyway? Our guild wants to jump into ToT asap, which just seems like a disaster seeing as we've barely killed vizier twice. I know I should probably try stepping up to help recruitment, but I don't know how to approach that.