Everyone seems to tell me to go disc

90 Night Elf Priest
I'm a bit frustrated.

Since I'm new to the game, more or less (how long can I get away with saying this?) everyone seems to want to tell me what I'm doing is wrong.

It's like being the new kid in high school and I'm hating it.

I was doing pretty well as a holy priest, dealing out 30-50hps without OOM'ing in ilvl 463 gear. I was confident with my haste stacking build to pump out the thoroughput and it I was able to keep enough spirit to make it viable.

But then I get whispered. Gotta go disc. Holy is easy mode and disc is way better.

And funny enough, I started as disc in 5.0 and everyone kept yelling at me to go holy.

So now I'm disc. And I'm not sure how I want to heal in this spec.

Should I dps to get stacks of evangelism to put some serious heals out in wide raid damage while keeping a CD bubble up on the main tank?

I mean, where is the big raid wide heal I've come to love? Disc seems to be very good, yes, but Divine Hymn saved my butt in LFR. I'm petrified in disc because I can't just hrow that down when the lights start to go dark.

Any tips on disc? I already un reforged my gear to go back to spirit>mastery>crit

I just don't feel comfortable in this spec.
Reply Quote
90 Human Priest
If you don't feel comfortable, just go back to holy. If they start bickering with you that disc is better, say that the patch changed a lot of things and holy is equal (kind of a stretch, but you can make it work with puggers).
Reply Quote
What it comes down to is, disc may have more potential, but if you are not comfortable with the spec you will never see that potential. Stay holy. You will perform better with something you "get" and "enjoy" than you will with something that you do not like just because it looks better on paper.
Edited by Morenn on 3/7/2013 6:07 AM PST
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Priest