Starting Healing Class (Newbie)

90 Pandaren Warrior
Ok I realize my title doesn't make much sense.

Basically, I'm new to the healing role in WoW.

I'm looking to roll either a Monk or a Druid and have been trying to research the two as much as possible.

My plan is to play casually and mainly only in LFR. So yes, the difficulty would be cake. I'm looking for a healing class that is relatively simple in terms of number of buttons to manage / cooldowns / timers / movement.

I see pros and cons in both monk / druids.

From looking at 5.2 changes, I'm noticing Monks require a lot of movement to heal well - mixing DPS and ranged healing can be confusing. Because not only are you managing the raid window healing people, but you're also concentrating on not standing in things (all healers do this) but you're also adding a 3rd aspect of following the mobs around and meleeing.

Druids seem like you need to manage timers of Hots on 24 targets....can be hard, no?

Do you suggest I skip druid / monk and try maybe a Paladin?
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Priest
Hmm, it really (you're going to love this) depends.

I think MW and FW have a sharper learning curve than druids. Druid hot uptime management isn't going to be as difficult, and you have a bit more wiggle room, especially at the LFR level.

I'd probably play whichever one seems more appealing (maybe watch some vids of raiders from the POV of the healer) and see which ones you find more interesting and intuitive to play.
Edited by Naérdriel on 3/8/2013 10:03 AM PST
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
Hmm, it really (you're going to love this) depends.

I think MW and FW have a sherper learning curve than druids. Druid hot uptime management isn't going to be as difficult, and you have a bit more wiggle room, especially at the LFR level.

I'd probably play whichever one seems more appealing (maybe watch some vids of raiders from the POV of the healer) and see which ones you find more interesting and intuitive to play.