@PvP Ret Paladins, also Lobster

90 Human Paladin
Why do you play a ret paladin? What keeps you interested in the spec? I'm just curious.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
I love melee/caster hybirds. Always have in all games! But, it's about the aesthetics, the whole 'holy warrior with plate and a big hammer' thing gets to me.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
I've always loved Paladin lore in general, so when I started playing this game it was a no-brainer to pick a Paladin. Admittedly, I don't have anywhere near as much fun as I did on my Paladin before they introduced Holy Power as a secondary resource. Our damage output is terrible in PvP outside of cooldowns, but I can't bring myself to play anything else over my Paladin, just love the class in general. I also love the support that Ret brings, the amount of utility we have to offer is amazing and we work well in big groups.
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
Isn't it obvious?

Because we're fabulous.

Also, Prot has the best sword & board gameplay out of most RPGs. [Yes, I know the thread was for Rets but I feel someone's gotta stand up for captain glowy shield bounce]
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Paladin
Don't want to hijack, but another interesting question would be why people switched away form ret, but that should be a different post
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
Don't want to hijack, but another interesting question would be why people switched away form ret, but that should be a different post

I switched to Prot from Ret during Cata when we were the only melee class without slows - which made gameplay beyond frustrating.

For other Pallies during MoP I suspect it was a similar lack of abilities that are common to most other melees in the game (reliable defensive cds, undispellable cc, lack of cc removal, etc). [This is my conjecture of course]
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Paladin