Is this rude? Discipline Priest as DPS.

90 Gnome Priest
Hello all!

I'm pretty new to the game (Before the last few months I've only played for a month two years ago when I was snowed in.) But I can honestly say I am having a blast as a Discipline Priest. I can't stand playing pure DPS (I just feel so useless when compared to using my tank or Illy here) and I feel like you have far more control over a LFD when you are playing a healer; you are a LOT less likely to have that annoying instance as a dps when the healer/tank leave after the first boss or you're you initiate a pull only to see the healer start running AWAY to skin a few dead mobs.

Now, I usually que as DPS/Healer when I try to enter LFD. For some reason, when ever I AM put in as a DPS, I am suddenly subjected to quite a bit of harassment (lol nub, why aren't you shadow? L2P) even though I am usually in the top 3 of the DPS chart, AND I've helped the healer when stuff goes terribly wrong and we are angling for a wipe. (Hunter pulls four groups of mobs as we engage boss? OK, pop Soul Shell and Prayer of Healing to give everyone a buffer as the healer focuses on the tank!)

So I'm just wondering, should I just dual spec as shadow to nip these complaints in the bud? I don't want to be mean, but in every instance I've seen a shadow spec priest, I've pulled greater damage even if it was passively cause thanks to Atonement.

Thank you for the help!
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Shaman
At your level, I wouldnt care what other people were saying. Seeing as most Dungeons around your level seem to be able to be done without a healer with the amount of self healing the tanks do, DPS away as disc. You're downing things faster with more DPS, and helping the healer keep people alive.

At high levels, IE LK stuff, I would gain a shadow offspec, because thats when healing seems to become sort of intensive.
Reply Quote
90 Worgen Hunter