5.2 trinkets

90 Blood Elf Priest
I'm trying to decide what to spend my VP on from Shado-Pan Assault, and I'm not very good at comparing mp5 to on-use mana return (the VP trinket), etc etc.

So, maybe it's a dumb question. For now, I'm very hesitant to give up my Relic of Chi-Ji, because of the spirit proc. My question is, is Soothing Talisman of the Shado-Pan Assault (on-use 29k mana every 3 mins) better than the 484 Relic of Chi-Ji (3261 spirit proc) or should I buy something else and wait for another raid drop trink.

I hope this is ok to ask here. Don't really use these forums much. Tried searching for a post like it but didn't see one and kinda rushed don't have time to check hundreds of pages.
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Paladin
SWC
cd on relic is 45 seconds, so you'll probably see a proc every 50-55 seconds. Figure out how much combat regen the relic proc gives you. Normalize it to the proc chance and see if it is more than 166.
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Priest
cd on relic is 45 seconds, so you'll probably see a proc every 50-55 seconds. Figure out how much combat regen the relic proc gives you. Normalize it to the proc chance and see if it is more than 166.

Actually, it pretty much procs as soon as the ICD is up, in my experience.
Reply Quote
65 Dwarf Shaman
Strictly from numbers, the Talisman is better mana regen and int than the 2/2 Relic. Ideally, the Talisman is worth 828 mp5, which is more than the Relic gives (Relic is equivalent to around 730 mp5, I think(?)). However, other factors can alter the gap size, such as the time off-ICD that the Relic takes to proc, the number of uses you can get out of the Talisman based on fight length, etc.
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Priest