Tips for a brand new potential healer?

25 Draenei Priest
Hey guys!

I'm very new, I just started playing WoW two days ago and the healer classes really interest me! I was just wondering, during group play, what is usually expected of a good healer, and if any good healers have tips on becoming a good healer like them! I would really love some advice so that I can get the full experience out of the game. Thank you so much!

P.S. I originally posted this on the new player boards and got a few answers, but was told that I may get more in depth/better replies from you guys, so any help would be appreciated for a healer just starting out!

Thank you! ^_^
Reply Quote
90 Troll Shaman
Expectations: Heal everyone through everything.
-Exceptions: If you have to choose, keep the tank up, then yourself, then the highest dps dpsers.
-Exceptions: If someone is blatently standing in fire and not getting out, and it won't wipe you if he dies, let him die.
-Exceptions: Sometimes stupidity makes it impossible to heal through the encounter nomatter how good you are.

Expectations: Keep up with the group, if you need mana and the tank is chain pulling say "MANA" right before a trash pull ends / boss dies. If you wait it is too late.

Important Starting tips:
-Get an addon like healbot or vudho. Configue your player targeted heals and your magic dispel into those such that you can use your mouse buttons + modifier (holding shift/ctrl...etc) to cast your heals. Having a mouse that has 2+ bumpers buttons helps a lot here.
-Read the class guides under the individual class you are playing.
-If you are healing while leveling, figure out what the minimum you have to do to keep people alive is. It is ok to do nothing if nobody needs healing while leveling. In fact, it reduces the chance you have to drink between pulls. Also, if you aren't twinking yourself you should try to keep some fairly currently level-required water in your bags just in case.
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Priest