"Ganking" now means...?

90 Orc Rogue
To me, ganking means the loser doesn't really have much or any chance.

The enemy is too high level.

There are too many of them.

Someone is attacked when they are near dead or are being eaten by mobs.

It now seems to mean someone lost in pvp and nothing more. Am I missing something?
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
To me, ganking means the loser doesn't really have much or any chance.

The enemy is too high level.

There are too many of them.

Someone is attacked when they are near dead or are being eaten by mobs.

I would agree with all of these things. Maybe people feel better about losing if they say gank these days?

/shrug
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Shaman
Maybe instead of level difference people use their skill level as a justifier instead of gear
Reply Quote
90 Orc Rogue
I am wondering and think you are right. Bad word choice if true IMO. I am not very good at PvP. That means if I got beat bad in an even fight I fought poorly. I am not going to call that ganked though. That is beaten, fair and square.
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Hunter
I thought ganking just meant attacked out of the blue; a cheap shot; a blow below the belt; a stab in the back; and etc.
Reply Quote
90 Undead Warlock
It now seems to mean someone lost in pvp and nothing more. Am I missing something?

I lot of people seem to be misusing it that way, the same way people seem to be misusing entitlement.

On the other hand, a lot of the claims of ganking on RH are justified. To me it isn't attacking out of the blue, it's when there is no chance, personally I ambush people 1vs1 without a raid backing me up. But groups both alliance and horde minimize the chance of them putting up a fight, i'm biased but I find horde ganksquads are more often then not responses to alliance ganksquads where back in Vanilla and BC it was the reverse.
Reply Quote
90 Orc Warlock
Ganking