[Ret] And the state of burstvsconsistant

97 Blood Elf Paladin
Hello. I'm not one of the best Rets out there (Though I would like to think I represent the every man player. The average.) And I've been Ret consistantly since WOTLK when I started playing, and I can't help but think that perhaps that was when Ret was at it's best for it's rotation and damage. Of course this could be rose tinted goggles as well.

Regardless. The model Ret is under now seems to be that we as a player base 'enjoy' burst. I can't speak for all, so that is why I make this thread. However. I don't wish this to become a "Petition to change" or anything of that sort. I am hoping that this thread will work to bring the united voice of Retribution paladins together to agree if burst is something we want collectivly, or if it is something we would like to make optional.

On a personal flavour, I don't think burst is where Ret, nor any class should rely on dps, it could lead to too many variables, for example I personally find that I like to lean off some of my cooldowns, such as Avenging wrath, for certain moments, save the start of a pull, if I had to blow it no matter what just to do the same damage as say, Bob the arms warrior to my right, then I don't think it's a cooldown anymore, it's just apart of my rotation, albeit it's a button i only press every 2 minutes (Or three if theres 1 minute left on ancient kings). I don't find that fun.

I'm thinking there is room for compromise. Perhaps changing up the current glyph for Avenging wrath, making it a ret only glyph, and changing it's function could work. Giving AV a passive instead, to give you half of it's effect on a constant basis (Rough estimate on how it may bring ret to a more consistant dps, rather then burst), but the passive is lost for 1 minute after triggering AV (To give you the burst you want, but making you think about casting it).