2 hander vs DW frost

90 Human Death Knight
I see on noxxic that 2 hander has a tad bit higher dps, however I was just wondering, is the play style the same but just different weapons? I would experiment but I don't have the gold to do all the spec changes etc. So...are they? and if so, which do YOU guys find more fun?

I don't care honestly about which pulls slightly better numbers...I go for the one I enjoy, and by doing so I'll master that spec and make it pull stronger even if it is the underdog.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Death Knight
The playstyle is not the same. Im new to it, but I found two handed dps to be really boring. I dont actually know how it works at your level, since you dont even have your mastery yet but from what I understand dual wield does not use obliterate (there is a small exception here) it uses its frost and death runes on howling blast, making sure not to cap runic power and using killing machine procs on frost strike.

For two handed frost, you use your runes as they come up on obliterate. Both styles keep diseases up, always.
Reply Quote
90 Orc Death Knight
Don't use Noxxic.

The main difference is whether you spam Obliterate or Howling Blast.
I like DW more, but 2h has a slightly easier priority system, I guess.
Reply Quote
90 Human Death Knight
Thanks everyone for your replies. I understand now after reading the sticky, just a little lost on when to actually use obliterate on DW. The sticky says when you have to unholy runes...sounds the same as 2 hander except for killing machine proc. however...I see al ot of people saying don't use noxxic. How come? It was so easy to read :(
Reply Quote
85 Human Death Knight
Use Icy-veins, it's has even more information, such as both 2 hander and DW rotation, as well as how to use them.

It is also just as easy to read.
Reply Quote
90 Orc Death Knight