Beginnings and Endings

90 Human Death Knight
WoW is DEAD!

Not really, but for most of us it has been a long time since we started playing.
Thinking back to when you first started playing the game.
What motivated you to start playing?
Why do you keep coming back?

For me I wanted a game I could get into that didn't end after 8 hours that had good action and a large world.
Now it's the pvp and the friends I've made over the years that keeps me coming back.
Reply Quote
I had been playing Everquest on and off for a few years casually with a friend. Got invited over to his house to try this new thing called "World of Warcraft" It was the beta.

Well I rolled a toon, made it to level 8 and died. Started cursing as I was prepared for a long annoying run to my corpse when he stepped in.

"Crap I died!"
"Shawn, click the release button"
I did
"See that spirit?"
"Yes"
"Speak to it"
I did
"Wait..... what does this mean...????,...????"
"Yea man, you never have to run to your corpse again if you don't want to, oh and you don't lose exp when you die either."
"Cool, I'm uninstalling EQ when I get home. WoW for life!"

Anyway, that was my first memorable exp in wow. I shared an account with that friend until BC when I got my own, didn't do anything serious just leveled my lock, played with my wsg 19 twinks, and hung out.

Took a small break at the end of wotlk til the end of cata. Been going strong since. Didn't really realize how much I have missed this freaking game.

What keeps me coming back? Crap, it use to be PvE, I was in a competitive raiding guild on my old server. Always looked forward to raid nights! Now that I'm on a pvp server I enjoy doing just about anything. PvP has sucked me in pretty hardcore.
Reply Quote
I started in 2004 during beta.