What Defines Good Healing?

90 Night Elf Druid
No, this is a serious question because I still don't believe meters truly 100% can define a good healer. I have read that meters are still good indicators to weed out extremely bad players but to a point. I've been healing for all five years that I've played this game. This is my main character. I will tell you right now, I'm not the best healer you're going to find. I'm learning everyday, yes you can learn a lot in five years and more, about how to heal right, when to use what heals. See I don't raid often, my profile should back up my story, but I do run quite a few dungeons, and I do get compliments about how I am a good healer and all that. See raiding I find to be completely different from running dungeons because now you're running with two other healers, strictly talking about 10 man raiding.

Or however many is needed for 25m (6?). I'm always on the bottom of the charts, but is my contribution really declining the rest of the group? I understand, that yes, perhaps I'm being carried, and I don't mean to put much strain on the rest of my healing team but instead of telling me I'm bad, how about you give me some pointers to make me better? Raiding is the one place where I struggle to be a good healer. Maybe it's not my place, it's possible, but does it really mean I'm not contributing at all? I have gone oom, numerously trying to "catch up" only to still be last. It could be gear, too. I just find great disappointment in myself because I absolutely enjoy healing over anything else in this game. Perhaps I'm just beating myself up too hard, but is there really a true way to define good healing?
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Shaman
Well, personally, I evaluate myself by looking at my healing done vs. overhealing done, activity (dispells, interrupts, etc), whether or not people died, and cooldown usage.