New to Alliance RP.

39 Gnome Monk
Salutations to everyone, and thank you for taking the time to read this. I just have a few questions that I would like some answers and opinions on.

As the title says I am new to Alliance RP. I have done some gnome research on how to behave and RP as a gnome, and of course their lore and stuff.

My question that I present to the court is, since I am a Monk. I am wanting to RP my character as an outcast to the Engineering culture around the Gnomish heritage, and focus on the individuality of my character choosing to enjoy meditating, Fortifying brews, and focus his chi. Then of course kinda feel bitter to those that stereotype my character for being known as an engineer. He doesn't have a problem with his people for it. He just doesn't want to be defined by it.

Do you think that this is workable, or have any pointers? Comments? Anything would be helpful.
Reply Quote
Ahhh! a fellow monk Rper! good good! I shall /bow you when i see you on my travels.

It's workable. The basic of monk RP is the abandonment of one's past, culture and/or training to seek enlightenment and discipline in the path to balance.... or maybe you just want to make brew and punch dragons in the face.... Admit it, that's everyone's dream.

But what you need to understand about Roleplaying a non-pandaren monk is not how but when. When in the timeline did your character decide the monk path is the right way? Was it his life long dream that was fulfilled when the pandaren came to town? or was it later on, when he realize being an engineer ain't as cracked up to be after he saw the wonders of pandaria? Is he an experience monk or is he still in training? And does he accept the humiliation of following that path when questioned by his opposing peers or is he still struggling? ("You stop making mechano chickens... because you wanted to break a rock with your pinkie finger? I HAVE NO SON!")