Did WoW Kill Dungeons and Dragons?

100 Human Warrior
Or did Wizards of the Coast do that all by themselves?
Reply Quote
52 Human Monk
Given 4E was a WoW clone, yes. They killed it themselves. I still play, but only 3.5.
Reply Quote
90 Dwarf Warlock
4E kinda sucks but it makes things a bit easier for video games and complete newbs. I mean "I've never touched a pen and paper game in my life and I want to DM" newbs.

3.5 is still a bit of a headache for new players, and the last time I played before recently was 2nd edition which was even *more* of a headache.

We're currently playing Pathfinder, which is a modified 3.5, and more streamlined in a bunch of aspects, and expanded in others(mostly class related).
Reply Quote
100 Human Paladin
5th edition is turning out to be pretty good
Reply Quote
100 Undead Warlock
no D&D is just fine

it's just called Pathfinder now
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
Fourth Edition killed Dungeons and Dragons.

"Get your MMO out of my pen and paper!"
"You get your pen and paper out of my MMO!"
Reply Quote
28 Undead Mage
If D&D does die, it was Lorraine Williams that put the events leading to its death in motion.
Reply Quote
I mean "I've never touched a pen and paper game in my life and I want to DM" newbs
So... Like me?

It wasn't my choice! I wasn't exposed to it when I was younger!
Reply Quote
90 Draenei Warrior
05/04/2013 09:50 AMPosted by Stax
I mean "I've never touched a pen and paper game in my life and I want to DM" newbs
So... Like me?

It wasn't my choice! I wasn't exposed to it when I was younger!

Neither was I, but I spent HOURS reading the DMG and such of 3.5E.
Reply Quote
92 Goblin Mage
I think the opposite. People who never would have considered d&d might try it after playing wow as, obviously, there are many similarities. However, they need to stay with what made 3e so strong... the freedom of making any sort of character you wanted since the classes were miscible.
Edited by Biffin on 5/4/2013 5:23 PM PDT
Reply Quote