What is wrong with my GPU?

100 Undead Mage
Hi there,

The problem that I'm having is that for some reason in most games my graphics in the game go all jagged. It's really weird and hard to explain you pretty much need to see it for yourself. It seems to mainly happen with shadows in games but it happens with other things that are farther away as well such as cars, trees, people, etc.

In WoW whenever I would be passing under a tree or I would be in the sunlight and the shadow of things would be on the ground, they would look all jagged for some reason. Same thing happened in Far Cry and now in GTA: IV that I just started playing.

Is this a problem with my GPU's? My graphic settings? What is it?

Here's a link to a SS I took while play GTA: http://imgur.com/EottZ7m

Thanks,
Xìphoid
Reply Quote
MVP
100 Night Elf Priest
Off-hand, I might guess that has to do with your anisotropic texture filtering settings.
Edited by Snowfox on 5/8/2013 3:38 PM PDT
Reply Quote
100 Undead Mage
Off-hand, I might guess that has to do with your anisotropic texture filtering settings.

What is that exactly? I suppose google would tell me but is there I simple way to describe it?
Reply Quote
MVP
100 Night Elf Priest
05/08/2013 03:40 PMPosted by Xìphoid

What is that exactly? I suppose google would tell me but is there I simple way to describe it?

It's usually a setting either in-game or in your video card setup (can't remember off-hand how wow sets it) Basically it changes the way textures are filter by distance, making them smoother.

It might not be that, but it's a starting point.
Reply Quote
86 Tauren Paladin