Mastery or Crit for resto shaman?

100 Troll Shaman
I am currently raiding 10man and am mainly wondering what stats would benefit me more. Of course there's aoe healing and tank healing involved in 10man. I've been reforging into crit mostly for a while but I'm wondering if mastery would get more healing out.
I've looked at other resto shamans, read up on a few guides and I'm still not sure which stat I should be going with more. Any advice?
Reply Quote
100 Tauren Druid
I'm no expert on shamans. But I think you'd benefit most by just reviewing your raid team. How much damage does your raid take, how often are you heal sniped? etc.

Basically, how often would you get the most out of mastery. If it's often, roll mastery. I think it's better in theory, but a lot of it depends on the content you are running and likely your healing composition/competition.

ie, HM progression I would think mastery reallly pulls far ahead. But in a lot of normal modes, you're unlikely to truly see which is better.
Edited by Tonydanza on 5/17/2013 7:45 AM PDT
Reply Quote
100 Troll Shaman
But in a lot of normal modes, you're unlikely to truly see which is better.

I agree, I've played around with mastery a little and whether I do that or go straight crit I usually pull a lot of heals. I'm just honestly unsure if there's a better stat to go with.
Reply Quote
100 Goblin Shaman
zZq
If you're running with a pally or disc, you'll likely get more mileage out of crit. Crit can also help with regen, and the various procs. If you're running with less absorbs, or your raid team takes a lot of damage, mastery would likely be better.
Reply Quote
90 Troll Shaman