Ret Pally DPS Current State

97 Draenei Paladin
Hello everyone, Cajete here and I just came back from a long 8 month break from the game. I've mostly been a Holy Pally throughout both Wrath and Cata. I played Ret back during BC but never liked it much until they introduced the Holy Power system. Anyway, I feel that now during this expansion it's time to go back to my roots. I'm totally feeling the Ret thing now, but I heard it's terrible in raids. I was looking around and I came to the conclusion that out of all the melee classes, Rogues and Monks are the most dominant atm, apparently. This being said, I wanted some input on the current state of Ret Pally. Will my DPS be lackluster in raids in comparison to other melee classes? If so why?

Thank you for reading, and greetings from Stormrage!
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
While I have zero experience raiding as ret since WotLK, if you're going to do LFR, who cares how competitive you are? Someone will carry you.

Overall, though, I've sensed the same general vibe you have -- that ret is currently not desirable in competitive PvE scenarios, which is a shame. Maybe next expansion we will rise again.
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Paladin
Truely lackluster dps will be caused by the player behind the keyboard, not the class. At the moment, ret is below average, but has a very nice buff coming in 5.3. In an average guild, a ret will be able to top the meters on any fight, disregarding punishing mechanics
Reply Quote
90 Tauren Paladin
A couple of things you have to keep in mind with Ret.

1. Ret scales well with gear so if you are playing Ret in bad gear expect to do really bad damage.

2. Though Ret is behind every melee from a DPS stand point at all levels of gear, the difference isn't so large that Ret is completely in viable for raiding.

3. Ret offers way more overall raid utility then every other melee dps.