I want more paladin in my class!

90 Blood Elf Paladin
When I started playing WoW, I chose paladin because that's the class I like to play in any game. That was four years ago, and I really enjoyed the introductory quests and class-specific quests that made you feel like your character was a paladin.

Danqna started out as a young knight from Silvermoon who earned his sword and paladin (blood knight) status, then set out into the world, learning how a paladin used his abilities. At 80, the differences between Retribution/Protection/Holy were mostly what got powered up and enabled via talents. You were a full paladin with almost all abilities, but they were significantly empowered or weakened when you were in the alternate specs.

That's gone, and with it has gone the feeling of being a paladin. Seriously, I forget how to consecrate ground when I'm holy? I don't have aura's any more? My ability to sacrifice my life to shield another player from all damage for 5 minutes has been forgotten? My raid damage buff is gone? My blessings are now watered down to exactly the same ability as other classes? Why don't I have the ability to decrease damage intake by my raid any more, or the ability to take damage for the raid? My beacon now only works with some of my heal spells because apparently there's two versions of the Light, the Light that works with beacons and the Light that doesn't. My judgements went from healing/regenerating/slowing enemies to simple damage spells.

It seems like class balance has taken the "paladin" out of my class and replaced it with other classes abilities with a "holy" name tacked on.

Sorry for ranting a little, but does anyone else feel we're slowly losing our class? Is there a positive change in our class that you think makes us more like paladins that I'm missing?