Are realms still down?

91 Blood Elf Mage
Quite sometime ago I was disconnected and then I saw that there is a restart. Normally this lasts 15mins and the post said as much. It's going on 50mins for me now.

Are they still down for the restarts or is something up my end?

(I'm a tech moron so if I need to do something on my end please keep it simple *blush)

More info:
- Thought I was disconnected from game because of rolling restarts, I'm international so just assumed it was 7am your time when it happened. Obviously it wasn't restarts which booted me.
- If I use wow-64 (never noticed that before) I can log in and it takes me to the 'choose your realm' page which you normally get when servers are down.
- If I use the launcher, normal wow shortcut button I get the error I mention further down the thread (the failed to launch a critical file error.). I didn't get this until I removed wow-64 from my game folder, now, even with the wow-64 back in there I get this error.
- tried logging in as admin.
- tried deleting battle.net cache
- tried the fix it button on launcher
- reinstalled the launcher
- shutdown all background programs
- disabled security firewall programs
- created new admin account
Edited by Stormvine on 5/23/2013 6:33 AM PDT
Reply Quote
90 Undead Rogue
If you are on the US servers, its 2am eastern time, and 10pm on the other side... chances are you got stuck in a dc hell like the rest of us, cuz generally restarts are at 7am on that side of the US. and the screen says 7am when you open login screen. we're all waiting for someone to fix the problem, may as well join us. :/
Reply Quote
91 Blood Elf Mage
Thank you for responding! I'm international (got to rely on timezone converter for these things) so no doubt I'm floating in limbo with you all & yeah it says 7am too on the screen.

If this helps anyone out there. When I got DC'd (i was on my bank alt in the AH, not a raid or anything) something new patched:
wow-0-16983-Win-Final.MPQ