Why do my healers pull aggro?

100 Tauren Warrior
I've heard it said that healing doesn't generate threat. Normally, I would accept this, and move on, but more and more, both at low levels and at level 90, I find myself pulling aggro as I heal.

Sometimes the tank is terrible, but I often observe that the tank is doing fine, and I'm a tank myself. So, why are my healers pulling aggro?

A few things I'm NOT talking about:

Spawned adds, which traditionally focus on the healer unless quickly picked up

The healer's threat-generating abilities, like Righteous Fury. We're talking about a resto druid, among others, in fact the druid is one of the biggest problems.

Sucky tanks that can't hold threat. I've tanked since I started playing, in 3.2, and I know when a tank isn't holding threat. This problem has little to do with tank quality.

Standing in bad. There are some pretty clear signs that a creature is attacking you, such as aggro warnings.

I'd also like to know where I can find the technical data that explains threat, and how it relates to healers.
Reply Quote
90 Draenei Shaman
What you heard is wrong. If we define 1 point of damage as generating 1 point of threat on the target, healing spells generate threat at 2 points of healing for 1 point of threat on all targets. Note that this only accounts healing that actually heals; overheal does not count.

Absorbtion mechanics work similarly: 2 points of damage absorbtion generates 1 point of threat. However, by definition of how absorbs work, these can't overheal. As a result, if you create a large absorbtion shield (Power Word: Shield being the most likely culprit) at the very start of a fight, this can result in things immediately rushing to you if the tank hasn't generate necessary threat (on account of say miss/dodge/parry).