Beacon of Light Question.

90 Blood Elf Paladin
Hi, I am new to being a Holy Paly and I was wondering how often I should be switching the target of my Beacon of Light. I see lots of palys running with the Beacon glyph which makes me think that I should be swapping lots. Right now I just put it on the MT or OT. Any pointers on how I should be using it would be great, thanks!
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
In general, keeping it on one of the tanks is the right thing to do. You want to keep it on someone who's taking consistent damage to minimize its overhealing. This doesn't always equate to a tank (for example, on heroic Lei Shi in Terrace, I kept my beacon on the ranged DPS who built the most stacks), but more often than not it's the most effective choice. It depends on the encounter.

You don't necessarily have to swap lots. The Beacon glyph is good for single target burst healing. If you swap your beacon and use DL/FoL to combat high incoming damage on one person, you'll be able to get holy power from Tower of Radiance, allowing you to cast more hard-hitting Eternal Flames.
Reply Quote
90 Tauren Paladin
Beacon of light glyph is just convenient. Whatever tank is taking the most damage is the one you really want to beacon, unless you're assigned to do otherwise.

To make max use of beacon you could quickly swap it to some one you want to DL or FoL to get holy power for it, which is something I personally never do unless the fight has some sort of transition mechanic and the tanks aren't tanking anything.
Reply Quote
90 Tauren Paladin
Too, much of it happens to be the lack of serious contenders for the three glyph spots. Typically, you have five to pick from: Divinity (free mana), Beacon (Bonus cooldowns), Divine Plea (alternative regen), Protector (very minor self heals), and Flash of Light (free healing). There's also illumination, but that one is only good for green-geared 90's and certain gimmick builds (high crit, low spirit... good for certain heroic modes).