New Paladin in need of simple advice

So Im not exactly new to the game, but I am new to MoP. I have had three other characters break the level 80 barrier, so I have a bit of an idea on how to play. I started a Paladin simply because Ive never tried one before and Im looking for a new experience. I dont have the knowledge and expertise to play a healer or tank, so I went retribution to try to DPS. On to my question!

I joined a guild, just to get the perks. Im now getting close to being honored with them. I have about 1700 gold on my other characters, and was toying with the idea of buying one of the items from the guild rewards that give you the bonus experience.

Are they worth it? I know you can get them with justice points too, but I dont have much of that across my characters. I do have the gold to purchase the guild reward ones though. And if they are worth it, which one should I pick up?

I also wondered about plate and mail armor. The items they sell are mail, but I know that ones I hit 40 I can use plate. Doesnt that make using mail kinda crappy?

I know that was a little long winded, I was trying to be brief. Thanks for the help!
Reply Quote
100 Tauren Paladin
For paladins, warriors, and DKs you always want the plate heirlooms. They're the only ones with strength, and they'll convert into mail until you can equip plate. The mail heirlooms are all agility or intellect based, which are pretty worthless (except the intellect heirlooms are good for Holy).

Whether or not they're worth buying is totally up to you. Leveling is pretty fast without them, and there's enough well-itemized gear available while leveling now to make the heirlooms less necessary than they were when they first came out. It's pretty much just convenience--you won't have to worry about upgrading the gear in those slots for a while.
Reply Quote
Ok cool! So if I understand correctly, even though they are Mail items, they will turn into plate at the right leve?
Reply Quote
90 Dwarf Paladin