New Mistweaver

90 Orc Monk
I've been playing Monk for a couple of months now, and after killing Lei Shen 3 times a week to use rolls and not seeing a RoRo, one finally dropped for me yesterday. As the fates would have it, the item was lost , and Blizzard is unwilling to fix it after a day and a half of support tickets. I can't force myself to play a dps spec reliant on a specific drop to be competitive, and then be completely screwed out of it after farming for a couple of months.

Anyways, /rant over. I gave me first shot at Mistweaver today, and it was pretty fun . I think I did ok, anywhere between 30-40k HPS, depending if there was a lot of AOE raid damage being thrown out. I haven't healed in a raid since I mained a Druid in Vanilla, so I'm just looking for some general tips if anyone would be kind enough to respond.

I noticed I didn't have any mana issues, which I was worried about with my terrible gear, so I'm thinking of reforging the spirit on my trinkets into crit until I can win the lottery and get some new ones. I'm also thinking about going Power Strikes instead of Ascension for this reason. The Power Strikes should be an obvious throughput increase, while the crit I'm assuming will be, although probably miniscule.

Haste. From what I have read, I am at the first haste breakpoint. I have read that it is more beneficial to reforge to crit until I can hit the second haste breakpoint. Is this correct?

Spells. I am basically building chi with renewing mists and soothing mists, and then using chi on uplifts. I'm using chi blast on cooldown, and I'm trying to stand behind the melee dps and cast it on the tank so that it goes through the dps on it's way to the tank. Is this optimal? I'm using thunder tea on cool down, as well as my mana tea (glyphed).