New to healing and new in general

90 Troll Druid
I started playing Wow around 3 weeks ago and it has been a serious learning curve, as I've never played any MMORPGs before. I started out doing DPS in battlegrounds and dungeons because...well...it's easier and less stressful :) But I'm very attracted to the healing role, so I started this character. When I got to level 10 and could actually do a battleground, I was super nervous...and while it didn't go horribly (I kept the fc healed and we didn't lose) it wasn't stellar either. When someone called me out for missing a heal, I told them it was my first time, and luckily they were understanding so there was no more after that.

However, I'm a little terrified now. It was fun and I definitely want to be a healer, but I feel bad going into a battleground and being the only healer, then having to tell them "sorry, I'm still just learning, you're all going to die." Is there some way to practice without letting down an entire team? I was thinking to try and find people who wouldn't mind going in knowing I'm learning (i.e. to give me a practice run) but I don't know if this is "done" in WoW. Do you just go in with a random group and grow a thick skin? Help...lol...

(Also, I do feel like dungeons might be a much more manageable way to learn, but if I can get in some practice before level 15 that would be nice...hence the battlegrounds)
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Priest
Well, I'm the type who would never want to start out in random BGs, although I tell every new healer I run into that learning to heal in large scale BGs is a great way to prepare for raid healing.

My advice to you is to find someone who looks like they know what they're doing and stick to them like a burr. Make sure they stay alive, make sure you stay alive, and if you can toss out heals to other members of the BG, great. Otherwise, stick with that one person and focus on them.