Noob healer needing advice

68 Human Priest
I am still very new to Priest, and am still running 5 man instances in BC - and just need a little advice.

So far healing is incredibly easy. Just shield, heal, spam PoH, rinse and repeat.

Now my question is twofold:

1. Shouldn't spamming PoH cause me to draw aggro? I do it and it makes instances really easy. Will this change once I hit WotLK and Cataclysm? Because I was under the impression that I wouldn't be able to spam PoH, yet I do time and time again. Have I been fortunate to be paired with noob-friendly tanks and that's why I am not seeing any aggro?

2. Aside from that, the only other problem I have had so far is the Death Knights pulling aggro away from the tanks. Is this something that will continue to happen or am I just an unlucky noob to have been paired with other noobs? Or are they supposed to pull agro off the tank and I am just too noob to know it?
Edited by Ecclesias on 6/21/2013 11:51 PM PDT
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Priest
06/21/2013 11:42 PMPosted by Ecclesias
1. Shouldn't spamming PoH cause me to draw aggro? I do it and it makes instances really easy. Will this change once I hit WotLK and Cataclysm? Because I was under the impression that I wouldn't be able to spam PoH, yet I do time and time again. Have I been fortunate to be paired with noob-friendly tanks and that's why I am not seeing any aggro?

You only build threat by healing at about half the threat that, say, a DPS builds by hitting the boss. And tanks have a huge threat boost they get for being in their tanking stance (Bear for Druid, Stance of the Ox for Monks, Blood Presence for DKs, Defensive Stance for Warriors, and Righteous Fury for Paladins). Keep in mind that you only build threat with healing spells if they actually heal damage, as well. You're likely in groups with more experienced tanks.