Get More PVE Damage out of my Paladin

90 Human Paladin
Hi i'm pretty new to the game and was wondering if i could get some seasoned pally's to look at my gear and tell me if there is anything i could improve in terms of gems and enchants. I'm getting into PVE alot more now and my dps seems to be lacking alot even though my gear score is higher then other classes. I was wondering if it was a gear issue or perhaps my rotation. I always refresh inquisition on 2-4 seconds and always with 3 holy power. I Templar's verdict at 3 holy power and hammer of wrath whenever possible while using exorcism and crusader strike on cooldown and judgement as lowest priority. I open with guardian and pop all my other offensive cooldowns after about 10 seconds into the fight and then again whenever they are off cooldown. I struggle to get over the 95'ish k damage(usually 80-90 k) on some encounters(thats over the entire duration of the fight. i generally peak at about 120-150 for the first minute but then drop off hard and never get back up there). i have even tried using clcret to make sure im using optimal dps and still not working. Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated like Should i gem haste over strength ? or is it my gear holding me back
Reply Quote
90 Dwarf Paladin
General priority queue for single target:

Inq > 5HP Templar's Verdict (to avoid overflow) > HW > Exo > CS > Judge > TV

The keys to ret dps are inquisition uptime, making sure you don't overflow HP, and then cooldown management. Try to line up Execution Sentence with trinket pots/AW/GoAK and you will see a dps increase.

Templar's verdict when you have any HP generators off cooldown but aren't at 5 HP is a waste, because it reduces the amount of holy power you generate over the course of the encounter.
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
thanks for the fast reply !
so it's simply a rotation issue that i'll have to work on. only using TV on 5 HP seems interesting i'll try it.
Reply Quote
90 Dwarf Paladin