Starting to heal, nervous as heck

90 Pandaren Monk
So the title says it all.

I used to be the main healer for my guild years ago when the top progression was Ulduar. Back then I used a Restoration Druid. With Cataclysm the Resto healing system seemed too frantic, so I switched to a different character.

I have been running solely LFR for the past half year as a Windwalker Monk. I would like to try my hand at healing again, so I have begun to assemble a set. I am at 487i gear score and with a few key pick-ups could easily be in the 490's.

I have never tried to heal as a Mistweaver before.

As I begin to learn and adjust to the class/spec I was wondering where people thought I should start? Normals, Heroics or LFR?

My eventual goal is to become a side-kick to someone like Mist so that I can fight crime in Pandaria. I mean..... I want to eventually become comfortable enough to raid normals.

Thanks, Sun
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Druid
If you think you're comfortable enough to heal a LFR I'd do that. If you're a little unsure try running a few battlegrounds until you feel like you have gotten the hang of things and then do a LFR or heroic dungeon. LFR of course isn't a good measure of healing, but it is a nice environment (for the most part) to practice in. Then when you feel comfortable enough try to heal a normal raid, even if it's the previous tier :)

When I start healing on a toon at a level cap I usually do battlegrounds or dungeons, then LFR, then a 'real' raid.
Reply Quote
90 Pandaren Monk
Gave Vaults a shot. Placed last on the first boss, 2nd on the 2nd boss, and last on the final boss. I honestly do not know what I am doing after reading the general rotation. I checked the results on the meters after each fight of another Monk who was #1 every fight. I saw three main spells. What is confusing is that I have like 7 at my disposal, but it looks like I will only be using a few. A LOT TO LEARN.

Night!

Sun
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Monk