I'm here... Let's talk about Shadow Priests

85 Night Elf Rogue
Many of you know me for making many rogue threads. A little known fact is I spend equal time on my priest.

What I'd like to know is what I'm doing wrong as shadow. I went from doing competitive damage to sucking up a storm at 8k DPS in ICC25... That's no bueno. What changed? I'm not doing anything differently.

I might have over done it on Mastery rating. Wat is the best stat currently to reforge? I used to be a haste bot but decided to go for mastery to try it out. Other than that, my rotation has not changed. Should I not cast Mind Blast at all until it lights up?

And my aoe damage is poor as well. I use Mind Sear if there are 5+ adds and I put Pain on all of the adds then Vampiric Touch on one and Mind Sear oif there are less than 5.

What's up? Oh and it HAS to be me since there were two other Priests in the raid one doing 13k and another doing 10k
Reply Quote
90 Night Elf Priest
I'm no expert by any means of the word, but I understand that on live Mastery is worth about 1/3 of haste by weight. So that being said I would try to reforge out of it and you can perdy much lose MS also as it was "balanced" to nutthin. There are changes to Mastery on the horizon, and they sound great, but for now on live try to balance haste and crit, with mostly int gems.
Reply Quote
80 Orc Warlock
The best stat is still haste, MASTERY is terrible on live, don't get it at all. Balance Haste/Crit
Mind Sear was nerfed, if you are tab dotting with SW:P make sure to constantly be moving to proc more Shadow Apparitions. Other than that not a lot changed.
Also your shadowfiend is a DPS cooldown pretty much. With Sin and Punishment it is never down for long and does substantial dmg.
Edited by Fuso on 11/5/2010 11:33 AM PDT
Reply Quote
85 Night Elf Rogue
Thank you guys Both these posts helped a bit. i'll get reforging now.
Reply Quote
85 Tauren Priest