How much dps should i be pulling?

90 Tauren Paladin
Im a ret pally with an 521 item level, I can burst around 180k but after burst i fall down to about 80 to 70k dps and that seems really low for my gear. I just got back playing so if anyone can give me some tips or help me out it would be great.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
Im by no means an expert, but bringing your hit/exp up to 7.5 will make a noticable difference.
Also once your haste starts getting up there youll notice a big difference in sustained dps when in between cooldowns.
I would also lose Immediate truth as a glyph, censure can end up doing alot of dmg.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
Enchant your gear, get hit/exp capped, and changed immediate truth to exorcism in SoO.
Reply Quote
90 Draenei Paladin
You definitely need to optimize your gear a bit, that should boost your theoretical max DPS by about 5%. As for actual DPS, you should be pulling around 130k sustained, with burst at around 250-300, assuming that you're doing your rotation correctly.

Some good resources for you to check out would be AskMrRobot, and Elitist Jerks.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
I do better dps than that on this character. 0o

You're probably doing something wrong rotationally as well as your gear not being optimized.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
You should easily be bursting 300k and sustaining at least 150k.

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/9753545568

Read that guide. All of it. Every single word. Live it.

Then enchant your gear. Pick up the ReforgeLite addon and use that to reforge your gear. The Ret preset is ready to go out of the box.

Also, pick up a new trinket. Darkmist Vortex is no bueno for ret.

Once all that is fixed, get CLCRet and use that to memorize your priority as ret. Oh, and finish leveling JC. It'll help. I promise.
Edited by Vaelryn on 9/17/2013 1:21 AM PDT
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin
Always upgrade your weapon first.
Reply Quote
90 Human Paladin