Usage of the name "Overwatch"

API Discussion
Hello,

I am a student developer, I recently worked on a FREE Android Application named "Overwatch Clips". The application is merely a content aggregation tool, it bundles many popular Overwatch clips from gfycat into an easily accessible android application.

It was recently removed from the Play Store under their policy of "Impersonation" and I have been advised that it will stay removed until I receive permission from Blizzard to use the name "Overwatch". I do not use any of Blizzard's logo, the only thing that it uses is the name "Overwatch" in the title of the application. I have come across multiple applications on the playstore that uses the name with 100k+ downloads that have not been taken down but my application with merely 300 downloads have been removed. I've read Blizzard's legal guidelines regarding trademarks and I believe I follow every single guideline.

Does anyone know how I can get into contact with anyone that can help me out with this issue?

Thanks for all your help.
overwatch is a simple word of the english dictionary and your application is "Overwatch Clips" and not "Overwatch". You don't need permission from Blizzard.

Problem is, perhaps, your content who need a permission.
I suspect this is Google being proactive about protecting copyrights/trademarks. You might want to try adding a note to to your description saying that your application is not affiliated with Blizzard Entertainment. You may also want to add a copyright/trademark notice to the app & description:

Finally, you might want to change the name of the application so that it doesn't include "Overwatch" or other Blizzard trademarks. Hope that helps!

(^_^)
Curious, is Overwatch a Blizzard Trademark? Silly question I know but only asking due to CS:GO Overwatch ?
11/29/2016 03:22 AMPosted by Ben
Curious, is Overwatch a Blizzard Trademark?

Yes
Hello,

I have same problem.