What is wrong with you Blizzard? Deleting Characters.

General Discussion
If you haven't noticed yet Blizzard went through a massive character deletion yesterday. So you all may want to go check your accounts. We are not talking about "Player not found" but literally removing characters from your account character list, the same way as if you hit the delete button. Tens of my friends got affected, many of them left with empty ghost accounts. And here are some facts:

1) ALL deleted characters of mine (and my friend's) were accessed within the past 1-2 months, many of them within the past 3 weeks. I am a Diablo veteran since Diablo1. I know the drill - 3 months of account expiration so every 2 months or so i went through every character of mine, selecting it to lobby and switching to next in order.
As you can expect from a player being into the game for 15+ years I have many mules with items that i have been collecting along the way. Overall that is what makes Diablo 2 fun for me and for most of the people, it is all about grinding, upgrading and TRADING. You haven't added zero new content for a decade so what do you expect the players to be fond of - running every ladder till they finish it? Of course not, Diablo 2 is still alive and still gains interest because it offers something that is beyond running through all 3 difficulties and stop.

3) There was literally zero heads up on what was coming. You never mentioned anything about deleting characters that weren't active for some weeks. I checked all Blue posts. We all know your 3 months inactivity policy and I've personally been complying with it since the dawn of b.net. Now out of sudden, without any warning, you start removing characters from characters list and hoping for what? That no one will notice?