WoW APIs - Android Authentication

API Discussion
Hey everyone! I recently started experimenting with the WoW community APIs, and I have a few questions for which I didn't find any answers in the forum, hope somebody might be able to shed some light on this! :)

So, I have some experience with Android development, and I wanted to use the Blizzard APIs to show some data on the app i'm playing with. Searching in these forums, and the web, I noticed that in the past, someone could register their application (as I understand it) and receive an API key that they would use in order to pull the data they required. However, looking at more recent posts, and experimenting with the API at the API reference page, I noticed that an authentication token is required to get the required information.

If i'm not missing anything, as I understand it, the way someone would go about it would be to have the user log in to battle.net with their account details, and that would generate a temporary 24-hour token which I can use to access data. However, seeing as I do not want to have access to any account specific data (I primarily want to access a guild roster, something openly available at the armory site), it seems that, having the user log in to a newly installed application, just for getting data that is accessible on the web without a login required, feels a bit off.

So the way I see it, the more reasonable way would be to use my client ID and client secret, to create a token without a scope (thus a token which can only access community APIs, not player account information) and use it to perform the request for the data.