What would you recommend for a career in game design?

General Discussion
I am a senior in high school, getting ready to start college, and I'm looking into maybe pursuing a career in game development. What kind of classes, programming languages, and activities would you recommend looking out for now and while I am in college?
Game industry uses a lot of C++, but I would recommend saving that for later. C++ is an extremely complex language, and it actually requires some advanced programming knowledge in order to actually write good C++ code, since there are a lot of blunders and pitfalls you can commit.

I'd recommend familiarizing yourself with a game engine, some easy ones to learn are Unity and Game Maker, and study the languages those engines use (usually it's C# or Javascript).

Also, study vectorial algebra. It is extremely important for game coding (and computer graphics in general). Games are literally pure math.

Since I'm a programmer by trade but not a game developer, that's pretty much all the advice I can give you.
c++ is #1 for game engines
assembly language is also super useful for improving speed (inline c++ assembly)
c# is a windows only while c++ is write once run anywhere after compiled on that system

c++ = programs run super fast / small size / many libraries
c# = programmers roll out proof of concept fast / programs are slow / windows only / can use a number of tools to peek at how the program opreates

start out with how computers work from the very foundation and work up

learn more then one language but c++ should be your standard go to hammer for most things

assembly takes a lot of coding to do anything useful but can do anything.
also you can import c / c++ libs into asm and use them

for scripts python is very useful but not for games (general purpose scripting)
lua for scripting where performance is needed

http://lua-users.org/wiki/LuaVersusPython

sometimes you need to have a task that interfaces with the web