Viable Arcane Orb: Obliteration build?

Wizard
Hey everyone,

I just started playing Wizard yesterday(friends had given me some gear, fulminator and triumvirate) So I had one of them power level me yesterday.

I want to do an Arcane build using obliteration, is anyone else doing this, or is it a bad skill?

I know I have a lot of gearing left to do, but I like being able to switch between characters.(Monk is(was?) my main, but they keep getting no love, so I built a DH, which is a lot of fun, but I decided I wanted a non DEX class as well, and the WD didn't interest me, even though I know they are strong)

Wizard is a lot of fun so far!
Hii Scrotie,

I think that Obliteration is a "bad" skill because you're only able to hit the a few enemys at the Front
and will therefore run out of arcane power too fast.

you could try to get the orb spammable, but that would only work at cost of lots of other important stats.

the fire/ligthning/frost Runes can pierce through enemys and dmg a lot more with the same arcane power.

if you find a mirrorball with +2 Magic Missiles you'll have a dmg output wich will be quite equal to Obliteration but without the use of arcane power

I'd recommend you to find a few items and adapt your build to them. =)
And when you found enough stuff think again what builds are possible

EDIT: found a friend that played with obliteration and magic missiles t4 so i guess it is playable :D. with enough arcane gear. soo try it :D
Yea I have been running an obliteration build exclusively since season 3 hit.

It does great damage and with cost reduction I can spam 10 orbs before I run out of arcane power.
Since you have to weave in magic missiles to keep focus, restraint and triumvirate up you do not run out of arcane power unless you are fighting a champion.

I regularly crit for 2 to 5 billion with an average of around 3 billion damage and if you use blackhole to group up mobs the fact that obliteration does not pierce doesn't matter.