Ray of Frost/Tal Rasha's Build Guide (2.0.5)

Wizard
1 2 3 5 Next
Hi everyone,

I’ve read a lot of very helpful builds on these forums, so I wanted to share the Tal Rasha’s/Light of Grace Ray of Frost build I’ve been working on to help out anyone that might be considering trying a cold wizard. With this build and my current gear I can clear T5 very effectively, and it remains fairly solid in T6. By the end of this guide I hope to convince you that RoF can stand toe-to-toe with any channelling build out there.

As a side note, my day job is as a research scientist, so I’ve done a fair bit of number crunching (because what RPG isn’t fun without spreadsheets!) and the build has been optimized to the best of my ability. I’d be happy to hear any suggestions.

The Concept:

This build turns Ray of Frost into a face-melting hate-beam of death that slows enemies, debuffs them, shocks them, burns them, and hits them with four volleys of meteors all at once. This build will do this infinitely, and all you need to do is left click.

Specifically, the aim is to get all four Tal Rasha’s meteors and all four ticks of elemental exposure into the Ray of Frost channel. With the right gear, you will not need any additional cast-able spells to achieve this.

My Gear:
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/VitaminZ-1426/hero/28807547

The Build:
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/wizard#ZNjSOY!YWSR!cZYYZZ

You will need:

Offhand: Light of Grace
- This item is mandatory to make RoF into a viable channel on par with disintegrate. Try to get one with 4APoC, and for BiS stats, +damage to Ray of Frost.

Set: 4pc Tal’s Rasha’s Elements (Chest/Belt/Helm/Amulet)
- Either all four pieces or three plus Ring of Royal Grandeur – which three pieces you have is not critical. For BiS stats, you’ll want +damage to Ray of Frost on the helm and +cold damage on the amulet.