hard is to easy?

Console Discussion
so just bought d3 on xb1 and since i had no gear and was rolling hardcore i set difficulty to normal (as the point is to survive). well it seems like it was super easy as i didn't even have to use potions.

went to my friends house, we started fresh on hard. he was barb and i was a witch doctor. he has never played the game and even he said it felt too easy.

fast forward back to my guy. Im on act 2, i change difficulty to hard. make it to act 4. in act 3 is where i finally start seeing my health dip a bit but goes back up quick because of my health per second. some points i stop attacking just to see and i could just sit there taking hits and i would regen.

i remember struggling on pc going up the ranks. should i be playing the game on expert the first run though? i know there is like 8 more difficulty levels. bit the whole point i started on normal was i had no base gear. but i guess hardcore is less fun with no red screens
The idea is to be able to switch difficulties as you go, to a level that suits you. Some people like easier so they can rush through monsters and maximize xp and loot, others like a bit of a challenge. You have from normal to master to pick, until you unlock torment levels.

In hardcore, you just gotta keep in mind that even if white monsters feel easy there will be tough moments where you face 2 or 3 elite packs at the same time.

If you feel your current level it's to easy, just step it up until you think you've over-reached, then take one step back down. That ought to do it.
Matheal or however you spell it blows on expert without level reduced 70 gear and higher tier gems on a run through with new char. We had to try twice on core. Left it on normal for hc.