Does Wizard need to be fixed?

Wizard
So I started playing again this season after a long time of not playing. I've gotten a Wizard to 70 before and was starting a new one to see if they'd changed at all. Seems nuts that after a year or two, the poor-performing abilities are still poor-performing, and there are really only a couple deviations you can make to still be effective. For being a game that totes the ability to play what you want and still be effective, I feel like Wizard is lacking in build variety.

It seems crazy how you can play Diablo I or II, get hit by a Charged Bolt and half your health goes down, then you pop in D3 and use Shock Pulse and your enemies glance around quizzically as though they weren't quite sure if they just felt a gentle breeze pass by. Why so many underwhelming abilities?

Magic Missile, Electrocute, Spectral Blade, Energy Twister, and Arcane Orb seem to all need buffing in some way or another. Arcane Orb -completely- loses viability as soon as you get Arcane Torrent, and once you get the Astral Presence passive with Disintegrate, all AP generating abilities feel practically useless. Playing Wizard literally becomes "buff yourself with three 10-min spells, right click and watch health bars go down".

If I'm alone in this please educate me, but the signature spells feel like they really should do more damage. They look awesome, but they don't feel awesome. Granted, I play with friends on my Wizard so I don't have to jump around as often, but even then I keep finding myself 30 yards away, holding down Disintegrate for an hour. I've tried switching it my build up frequently, but it just seems like if you're not using a channeled ability, you're not playing the class right. Am I alone in wanting some variety?
All of these are higher GR builds.

Meteors channeling (2 versions)
DMO Frozen orb
DMO twister
Manald lightning Vyr/Tal
Vyr Archon
06/18/2018 10:41 AMPosted by storytime42
All of these are higher GR builds.