...now I am a noob all over (HC)
Any pointers from some veterans?
I take it a shield is needed, true?
What skills do you prefer?
Dashing Strike a must?
Near Death Experience?

Please share your wisdom
Let's do it azakiah. Add me

I need a partner for HC... I'm lvl 32 but have come in a few close calls due to lag spikes. Stopped playing it because it got too dangerous..

Yes, a shield is needed for solo play. You want enough mitigation to survive 15 seconds of lag/disconnect/dropout..

I'm only lvl 32 and my most important passive is transcendence. Saved me so many times..
You can copy my build for HC, it's fairly standard. High vit, resists, armor, etc...once you clear Inferno, you can go more offensive or stick with your defensive build.

If you search the HC forums, you'll find a lot of info on gearing/build for monks. The HC guys will help you out if you needed help, although they can be a bit intolerant of SC guys. They are an interesting group.

Edit: In inferno, if you DC, most likely you are dead. Shield isn't going to help with DC. You can gear your enchantress with a Maximus and use mystic ally, they may prevent your demise if you DC, but it's unlikely since you usually DC fighting elites with arcane, molten, etc...
I like my build. It's a dual wield build though. Not for everyone, but it's probably the safest dual wield build I've ever seen.
Scrap, add me man, ledoit
HC is easy as a Monk. :3 Got a Monk to 60 first try in like 3 days.

I geared and set skills to where I could basically one shot everything till like late hell. Than I got a little more serious.

I haven't touched my HC char in a while though <_< I got it to 60 than kind of stopped.

Its kind of obvious what stats you want for a HC Character.
i am actually really good at hardcore, heres what you need to know: you need to make the game your !@#$%

if at any point the game is harder than farming mp0 on your godly sc monk, go back and farm or drop the mp, because you will die.