Which packs to invest in as new player?

Play Mode Discussion
I'm new to hearthstone and don't have time to grind the game.

Since the last expansion, what packs are worth buying to make some fun decks?

I bought 40 of the classic cards and have spent most of my gold on the Kobolds.
Hey Irish, welcome to HS. So as a player willing to spend $, I quite strongly hint at buying the adventures. They were, an remain the best $ value for cards only beaten by the Welcome Bundle. However some are wild only mode but if you like HS it's such a good investment. You can get those on the B.net shop site.

After that, it's important to mention that every single set such as classic, Kobolds, Knights of the Frozen Throne etc. Offer a legendary card guaranteed in the first 10 packs. This is a nice update by blizzard. If I had to pick an exact set finally to get cards from I'd say Journey to Un'Goro. Just because I liked the cards from that set, an epics were quite good from it.

Good luck an have fun in HS.
You get a guaranteed legendary in the first ten packs of each set. So you'd want to get 10 packs of Frozen Throne, and 10 packs of Un'Goro. You could then get 10 MSoG and 10 Old Gods also, but those sets are rotating out of standard mode this spring. Be sure you've also done the Frozen Throne prologue for the DK card reward.
01/15/2018 08:20 PMPosted by Irish
I'm new to hearthstone and don't have time to grind the game.

Since the last expansion, what packs are worth buying to make some fun decks?

I bought 40 of the classic cards and have spent most of my gold on the Kobolds.

Have you played CCGs before? If so what type of decks do you tend to like? That would have some bearing on what I'd recommend buying from as certain expansions have cards that are more important for certain play styles.