Underwhelming KotFT packs?

Play Mode Discussion
Is it just me or is Knights of the Frozen Throne a really lackluster expansion? Except for the Death Knights and two or three neutral legendaries (the King, Keleseth), do any of them see regular play?

I bought the bundle praying for a DK, but of course I didn't get one, ended up with Sindragosa and a lot of dust. None of the epics I opened seem viable (Abominable Bowman? Light's Sorrow?), though I didn't open two UI's but I already have those! And all the good rares I opened (Saronite, Dreadlord, Happy Ghoul) I already have those too from the first time I bought KotFT packs!

Don't know what I was thinking, should've done my research first, but it seemed like a good deal. Ended up with 2K dust...

I was wondering though, what was it like when this expansion first came out? Were people playing any of the epics or legendaries besides the DKs? I started playing in the Kobolds expansion, and only recently became more invested in the game, so I didn't really know what I was doing until the rotation earlier this year.
KFT isnt playable you say?

Well, thats the first one of complaint i ever see.
There are at least 5 Druid, 4 Priest, and 3 Hunter, and 3 Warlock KFT cards that are currently being played in standard meta, other than the DKs.
Acherus Veteran
Cobalt Scalebane
Happy Ghoul
Drakkari Enchanter
Prince Keleseth
Prince Taldaram
Saronite Chain Gang
Hadronox
Malfurion the Pestilent
Spreading Plague
Strongshell Scavenger
Ultimate Infestation
Crypt Lord
Play Dead
Righteous Protector
Uther of the Ebon Blade
Eternal Servitude
Obsidian Statue
Shadow Ascendant
Shadow Essence
Shadowreaper Anduin (Voidform)
Spirit Lash
Doomerang
Leeching Poison
Valeera the Hollow
Thrall, Deathseer
Despicable Dreadlord
Drain Soul
Gnomeferatu
Bring It On!
Dead Man's Hand
Don't forget Bonemare use to cost 7, now 8. Currently being played in some Even decks in recent tourneys.