Unable to play casual mode

New Player Tavern
Sorry in advance if this isn't the right place for this, but I just started playing a few days ago, and casual mode isn't appearing as a playable option (yet ranked is) and I'm not sure why. my friend who also started recently can play it. Am I missing something?
as far as I know, Casual is locked per new rules until you get to Rank 25
Unfortunately, when they decided to implement the 50-25 ranks, they also decided that players also shouldn't be able to play Casual until they reached Rank 25; a big mistake in my opinion.
Thanks for clearing that up! :)
10/17/2018 08:15 AMPosted by DeckardCain
Unfortunately, when they decided to implement the 50-25 ranks, they also decided that players also shouldn't be able to play Casual until they reached Rank 25; a big mistake in my opinion.

It's not a mistake. It's a recognition that playing against an old player with a crappy win rate but a deck full of epics and legendaries is not conducive to a good new player experience. Even if the epics and legendaries in question suck, the new player's perception is that they lost due to having inferior cards. Just look at all the old threads on this forum that stated as much. As I write this, there is a thread posted by someone complaining that his Rank 24 games are too hard. Those Rank 24 players are the ones that new players were coming up against in casual.

Rank 50 games are super easy. I say this after playing some of those on the EU servers. I guarantee that new players will have a much better experience playing ranked than they will by jumping into casual against bad players who have been collecting packs for four years.
'It's not a mistake. It's a recognition that playing against an old player with a crappy win rate but a deck full of epics and legendaries is not conducive to a good new player experience. Even if the epics and legendaries in question suck, the new player's perception is that they lost due to having inferior cards.'