Rastkhan's Rumble Bugs

Bug Report
Hi there,
I have recently encountered 2 different Bugs
1. Clockwork Automaton:
I was Playing the Bewonsamdi's Covenant shrine and when making Damage with my heropower it did double the damage it should have done!
Like with one Clockwork Automaton my healing was displayed as *4* Healing and the damage I did was 8 Damage(pictures are saved)

2. Treasure from Below (shrine):
normally the shrine respawns before your turn begins (that’s my interpretation of "at the start of your turn" will trigger) so normally that’s how it works (I think) but after getting the upgrade "start with two of your shrines" it still looked from the animation that they resporned before my turn began but the effect didn't trigger (no screenshot for this)
@2
That worked for me.
I guess your hand was full.
The shrine only steals if there is room in your hand
02/16/2019 09:27 AMPosted by Glutschwert
with one Clockwork Automaton my healing was displayed as *4* Healing and the damage I did was 8 Damage


Healing and damage are both doubled. Separately.

Healing is doubled to 4, and then that is doubled to 8 damage. Working as intended.
02/16/2019 09:27 AMPosted by Glutschwert
(pictures are saved)
Can you upload them to a third party site (eg imgur.com) and post the links here?
In the future if you have bugs to report and screenshots available, please do so right away. It never hurts and almost always helps to have these available.

re: Bwonsamdi's Covenant / Clockwork Automaton:
I do personally not agree with shuteye's assessment that this is working as intended (disclaimer: neither shuteye nor me is working for Blizzard)
I understand where their assessment comes from and think that this might explain the cause of the bug. There are other interactions with Clockwork Automaton where healing [b]is[/i] indeed rightfully quadrupled. One of for example the Hero Power of Bloodreaver Gul'dan: "Lifesteal. Deal 3 damage". With Clockwork Automaton, the damage is doubled, to 6. The Lifesteal then causes a healing for the same amount - but then Clockwork Automaton triggers again and doubles this to make the hero heal for 12. In effect quadrupled, but in this case correct because the events are separate.
But Bwonsamdi's Covenant doesn't create two separate events. It causes the healing to be replaced by damage. So there is not first healing being done, and then damage as a result - it's just damage instead of healing and it should b doubled only once.
My guess is that under the covers in the implementation it actually somehow does go through a healing event first, which is then stopped somewhere and a damage event is then kicked off. That's probably the reason why this happens.
But unlike shuteye, I don't believe this is intended.

re: Treasure from Below:
There have been multiple reports that this shrine sometimes does not trigger in the turn in which it revives. I have tried to replicate this myself and failed, and I have read messages from Blizzard staff saying that they have been unable to replicate as well.
Now some of those reports may have been due to full hands. Some may have been due to the opponent deck being out of cards. But at least a few explcitly stated that their hand was not full, and that the opponent still had cards left. The total number of those reports is high enough that I believe that there may actually be some specific combination of circumstances where the shrine does actually fail to trigger in the turn it revives.
Too bad you have no screenshots of this. It would have been very useful to help in narrowing it down to the exact cause. If it ever does happen again in your games, please make screenshots and post them here. (Or, better yet, post a link to the game on hsreplay.net if you play with a deck tracker that uploads your games there)
02/16/2019 02:02 PMPosted by shuteye
02/16/2019 09:27 AMPosted by Glutschwert
with one Clockwork Automaton my healing was displayed as *4* Healing and the damage I did was 8 Damage


Healing and damage are both doubled. Separately.

Healing is doubled to 4, and then that is doubled to 8 damage. Working as intended.

I think it's a bit dubious that the healing and damage are considered separately. From a technical level it makes sense: "A healing event from the hero power? Better double it!" -> "A healing event? Better turn it into a damage event!" "A damage event from the hero power? Better double it!"

But this is only because Bwomsamdi's Covenant is implemented as a triggered effect so that it can differentiate between targets. To my knowledge, the same behavior doesn't occur with Auchenai's conversion effects, and it doesn't seem like they're meant to have this functional disparity. The Shrine isn't written as a triggered effect, e.g. "Whenever a player heals an enemy, damage them instead".

The behavior is comparable to an old bug between Bolf Ramshield and Spell Damage. Spell Damage would boost the damage dealt to the hero by a spell, Bolf would redirect it, and then Spell Damage would boost the damage a second time. This was corrected in version 13.0 with the implementation of a proper order for redirection and modification effects - https://www.reddit.com/r/hearthstone/comments/a0mc0j/new_card_snapjaw_shellfighter/eaixu48/

Presumably the conversion just lets that whole process repeat as if it was a completely new event. That, or Clockwork Automaton's effect is working as two effects which each modify the value as soon as they become applicable, similar to redirection effects described in that post. If you had two minions where one said "Your damage is doubled" and the other said "Your healing is doubled", it would make sense for it to deal 8 with Healing->Damage conversion in play. Or maybe it should only be subject to modification after conversion, so only damage doubling applies? Either way, I don't think a single Clockwork Automaton is supposed to be able to apply twice to what is ostensibly the same event.

The interaction between Lifesteal and Damage+Healing Doubled is also comparable, but like BigHugger pointed out, the damage and healing are two separate events in that case. Even if the initial value of one comes from the final value of the other, it makes sense for both to be subject to the modifiers. Here, again, it's supposed to be one event that gets converted.
02/17/2019 04:53 AMPosted by BigHugger
02/16/2019 09:27 AMPosted by Glutschwert
(pictures are saved)
Can you upload them to a third party site (eg imgur.com) and post the links here?
In the future if you have bugs to report and screenshots available, please do so right away. It never hurts and almost always helps to have these available.

re: Bwonsamdi's Covenant / Clockwork Automaton:
I do personally not agree with shuteye's assessment that this is working as intended (disclaimer: neither shuteye nor me is working for Blizzard)
I understand where their assessment comes from and think that this might explain the cause of the bug. There are other interactions with Clockwork Automaton where healing [b]is[/i] indeed rightfully quadrupled. One of for example the Hero Power of Bloodreaver Gul'dan: "Lifesteal. Deal 3 damage". With Clockwork Automaton, the damage is doubled, to 6. The Lifesteal then causes a healing for the same amount - but then Clockwork Automaton triggers again and doubles this to make the hero heal for 12. In effect quadrupled, but in this case correct because the events are separate.
But Bwonsamdi's Covenant doesn't create two separate events. It causes the healing to be replaced by damage. So there is not first healing being done, and then damage as a result - it's just damage instead of healing and it should b doubled only once.
My guess is that under the covers in the implementation it actually somehow does go through a healing event first, which is then stopped somewhere and a damage event is then kicked off. That's probably the reason why this happens.
But unlike shuteye, I don't believe this is intended.

re: Treasure from Below:
There have been multiple reports that this shrine sometimes does not trigger in the turn in which it revives. I have tried to replicate this myself and failed, and I have read messages from Blizzard staff saying that they have been unable to replicate as well.
Now some of those reports may have been due to full hands. Some may have been due to the opponent deck being out of cards. But at least a few explcitly stated that their hand was not full, and that the opponent still had cards left. The total number of those reports is high enough that I believe that there may actually be some specific combination of circumstances where the shrine does actually fail to trigger in the turn it revives.
Too bad you have no screenshots of this. It would have been very useful to help in narrowing it down to the exact cause. If it ever does happen again in your games, please make screenshots and post them here. (Or, better yet, post a link to the game on hsreplay.net if you play with a deck tracker that uploads your games there)


Actually I have the replay for both games. (Didn't think about them before!)
https://hsreplay.net/replay/dQXceB2KBbJpHgxTz6RDBd
This one is for the shrines (the malfunction begins at tur 7)

https://hsreplay.net/replay/qAFxshZWnKhQ3wytxEd9XU
This one is for the clockwork automata (the interesting part starts at turn 10)

Hope that can help
LG
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/rmkv62m9t5u85q3/AAA3iNsNmYWsz8dMycUxG2d-a?dl=0
And here the dropboxlink for the screenshots.
https://hsreplay.net/replay/Rmj4z5q93R3Lw9ioQvaV2h
Here another one this time with Prophet Velen quadrupling the damage from Spells.
02/18/2019 08:41 AMPosted by Glutschwert

Actually I have the replay for both games. (Didn't think about them before!)
https://hsreplay.net/replay/dQXceB2KBbJpHgxTz6RDBd
This one is for the shrines (the malfunction begins at tur 7)

Theorized a possible cause of the bug based on the replay and a few videos of the Shrine in action. Need more evidence, but it would explain much about the reports I've seen: Perhaps the turn the Shrine revives, it only looks for minions in the opponent's deck, rather than cards.

As most people know, a minion with a "Start of Turn" effect, when summoned by another "Start of Turn" effect, will not trigger on that same turn. Treasure From Below is an odd (but deliberate) exception to that. But internally, it's not breaking any game rules. Observant players will notice that, rather than the Shrine fully reviving before triggering and giving you the card, you instead gain the card immediately as the Shrine revives. The newly active Shrine never actually triggers its little lightning bolt icon. This is because on the turn it revives, the steal is performed as a side effect of the dormant token form, not by the active Shrine itself. The script for that secondary effect on the dormant Shrine may not be identical to the one on the original. There have been bugs like this in the past, where two internal effects posing as one would be different, causing weird bugs like Baku not working if he's in Mecha Jaraxxus' opening hand.

I've looked over a couple videos, and on the turn the shrine revives, it always seems to steal a minion, never a weapon or spell. Additionally, in the replay, Zul'jin never drew a minion once the revive+steal functionality stopped working. Could be a weird coincidence, but it would explain a lot. In particular, many reports of this bug describe it happening in later rounds where games go on longer, and in games where the Shrine is copied. Both of these circumstances give more chances for the revive+steal behavior to occur, theoretically meaning more chances to drain a deck of minions. It's also often reported against T3 Zul'jin, who has few minions to begin with.

If anyone can find a clip of a Shrine reviving and stealing a spell or weapon on the same turn, that would shoot this theory down. Otherwise it seems promising.

----
Update:
With the addition of a few more replays involving the shrine - https://github.com/HearthSim/hs-bugs/issues/1107#issuecomment-464870584 - this theory seems like the correct explanation. On the turn the shrine revives, it steals a minion. If the opponent's deck has no minions on that turn, it gets nothing. If it's alive at the start of the turn, though, it can steal normally. But if the opponent keeps killing it off, it'll run out of minions and no longer work.

Hey Blizzard, if you hurry, you can hotfix the bug before this shrine becomes available to everyone in tomorrow's brawl!
Thanks for the report!

Jetz you are indeed correct. I tested it out myself and confirmed what you are seeing. The shrine revives and does not steal if there are no minions in the deck. This also explains how most of the reports are showing two shrines, having both shrines would quickly remove all of the minion from the deck. The good news is that the turn it revived on, it will start stealing any card from the deck again.

We'll have our team look into this and hopefully address this in the next update.
A quick update:
Due to the nature of this issue, we will not be able to hotfix the Treasures from Below shrine in time for this week's Tavern Brawl. However the shrine will continue to work as normal on the next turn.

As for the Clockwork Automaton issue, our team are investigating into it. It does seem odd for a single heal instance to double dip into Clockwork Automaton's effects. We'll have it reviewed on whether it is intentional.

Thanks again to everyone for pointing us in the right direction, we really appreciate your help! :)

Join the Conversation

Return to Forum