PlayStation 4 Console How To's

Technical Support
Below you will find some basic how to's steps that may help with playing Overwatch on your PlayStation 4 Console.

If none of the steps listed below help, you may be able to find more helpful information on the PlayStation 4 Support Site.

-Install from Disk
-Digital Install
-Redeem a Code
-Install a Missing DLC
-Restart the Game
-Restart the Console
-Test your Network
-Uninstall a Game
-Delete Local Save Game
-Sync Save Games
-Delete the Local Profile
Install from a Disk

1. Insert the Disk
2. The game installation will appear next to What's New
3. Wait until the loading bar has finished
4. (optional) Press the Options button and check for Updates

The game will be listed in the Library afterwards even if the disk is not inserted. A disk symbol next to the game will indicate that the game disk needs to be inserted before you can launch the game.
Digital Install

1. Navigate to Playstation Store
2. Move up or hit the triangle button to search for a game in the store
(alternatively navigate through the categories to find it)
3. Select Download (or Buy if you don't own the game)
4. Wait for the download to complete

The download process is displayed in the store and game reel. More detailed information can be found under Notifications -> Download. There you can also pause or abort the process.

Available DLC's are usually installed automatically in the process.
Redeem a Code

1. Navigate to the Store
2. Move down and select Redeem Codes
3. Enter the code
4. Confirm the process

Redeeming a code will automatically start the download of the product.

Alternatively, codes can also be claimed here.
Install a Missing DLC

1. Open up the game overview from the game reel or Library
2. Select Related Items
3. Choose My Add-Ons
4. Select the DLC to install and press the X button

The installation process is displayed below the game and also under Notifications -> Downloads. In there, the download can also be aborted or paused.

The PS4 usually installs all owned DLC together with the game installation or when purchasing a new DLC.
Restart the Game

1. Press the Playstation Button to view the main menu
2. Highlight the currently active game
3. Press the Options button on the controller
4. Select Close Application
5. Confirm the dialog
6. Press X to start the game again.

All unsaved progress will be lost when forcefully closing the application.
Restart the Console

1. Navigate to the top menu and select Power
2. Got to Power Options
3. Select Restart PS4

The PS4 will perform a full reboot. For network troubleshooting, the router should be power-cycled as well.

Power-cycle the console:

1. Hold down the power button at the front of the PS4 until it turns off
2. Disconnect the power cable for at least 10 seconds
3. Plug in the power cable again and turn on the PS4
Uninstall a Game

1. Select the game from the overview
2. Press the Options button on the controller
3. Choose Delete
4. Confirm the deletion

Deleting a game can help with constant freezes or crashes. Keep in mind that re-downloading might take some time based on your internet connection.
Delete Local Save Game

1. Navigate to the top menu and select Settings
2. Go to System Storage Management
3. Select Saved Data
4. Chose the game data to delete
5. Press the Options button on the controller
6. Select Delete
7. Confirm deletion of data

Save games can be saved online and synchronized. However, this is a PlayStation Plus feature and you must enable it first.
Sync Save Games

1. Navigate to the top menu and select Settings
2. Select Application Saved Data Management

To upload save data:

1. Select Saved Data in System Storage
2. Activate Upload to Online Storage

To download save data:

1. Select Saved Data in Online Storage
2. Navigate to the wanted save game
3. Activate Download to System Storage

Using the online storage is a PlayStation Plus feature but it can be helpful if the player needs to delete his save data during troubleshooting.
Delete the Local Profile

1. Navigate to the top menu and select Settings
2. Select Users
3. Select Delete User
4. Pick the profile to be removed
5. Hit X and select Delete

All local profile data will be deleted. Important screenshots or save games should be backed up or stored online (PS Plus required).

A new user can be created afterwards and synced with the player's online profile.

Join the Conversation

Return to Forum