PTR range lock in solo/group queue inconsistency.

Competitive Discussion
I have a friend in grand master, im diamond so we cannot play together.

Interesting enough, if we search at the same time, we played together 4 games in a row, on the same team.

If I can't group with him, make it that matchmaking won't make that huge difference in queue. I normally play with grand master guys who I cannot group, but all games there are at least one on my team.

if matchmaking doesn't put me on the same team means that grand masters will take years to find 1 game. So, the SR 500/1000 rank thing is not a solution but a patch that makes more problems than what it supposed to solve.

One may think that this happens on PTR because there are less people playing but in high tiers this will be a issue, specially on particular times (weekday 4am, for example) when player density is low.

I suggest to retire the GAP restriction and search for another solution.

This is just to give feedback, that the current system doesn't solve the intended problems. In theory looked fine, in practice doesn't work at all.
The 500 difference is just to avoid boosters and low sr smurfs boosting high sr ppl.

The most known case is a rank 90 guy that used to group with 2 SR80+ on SR30 accounts to get #1 ww.

Also people playing with low SR friends kinda ruined the high SR game.

Edit: Dont forget that happens because PTR player base is small.
Edit2: Playing 5am I got matched with a SR38 guy and I was 78 at the time, that will happen.
I have a suggestion.

Simply remove the gap restriction and base matchmaking on the highest ranked member in a group. That would naturally discourage players from pairing outside of their rank without outlawing it.