Animator or Software engineer?

General Discussion
So i wanted to be a game coder(software engineer) for a while now. Now since i started playing this game and i saw the animations i kinda wanted to go into the field of animating. Now I know there is alot of work to be put into these fields of game development to become really good. I want to know of animators/coders in this field of video games, what u think i should do to either prep for one of these fields or not bother and go into the other one. Also tell me about your adventure and when u started and what i should do when/if i start.
Well the two you're comparing are still quite drastically different.

One is much more artistic while the other deals with mathematics, codes.

Simply put, I'd go with the one you're most naturally talented at.
One good thing to do is grab a free game engine like Unity. Familiarize yourself with concepts of modern game engines (transforms and position/rotation/scale) and perhaps how to interact with them in code.

One thing about your question is you're mentioning things like animation and software development at the same time. Typically animations are created by actually animating a mesh in, for example, 3DS Max or some other modeling program. Then the animations can be triggered through code in the game engine itself. Maybe you should provide more information on what the focus of your interest is?
Those are two completely different things. I'm a software engineer and haven't seen a 3d model in years lol. The last time I did was when I was writing an import script for 3ds max. I never in my life have done any animating.

Either way, if you want to make games with it. Learn Unity3D and make some indie games.

But you don't want to make games because the pay sucks...... Compared to almost any other field when it comes to programming.