OW does a poor job indicating the direction of enemy fire.

General Discussion
I've noticed a certain...occurence...when playing Overwatch: I'll be in a fight, gunning down my enemies, things are going well...then all of a sudden *BAM!* I'm dead. I'll be scratching my head, thinking "What just happened?" and when I watch the Kill Cam I'll see, to my great dismay, that an enemy Reaper (or whoever) was plugging round after round into my back and I somehow failed to notice it.

I've always attributed it to my lack of situational awareness, but then I noticed it with other players, too. In one memorable instance, I was playing as Sombra, defending on Temple of Anubis. The enemy team was bunched up near the first choke point, so I attacked from one of the side-passages...and here's where it gets weird: I unloaded two full magazines into them, killing three or four players, and not once did they return fire or even look in my direction. Now, even if this team were made up of total newbies, I'd expect them to react in at least SOME manner.

I've come to the conclusion that Overwatch does a poor job of indicating where you're taking fire from and how much damage you're taking. Back in the days of Quake, if you got hit, the screen would flash, your character would emit a loud grunt of pain, and it was never hard to determine where you were being attacked from. But in Overwatch this does not appear to be the case. Yes, there are little red marks that appear around your crosshair indicating the direction of incoming fire, but they are small, appear only briefly, and are easily lost in the visual clutter surrounding the crosshair. Also not helping matters is the fact that you're healthbar is relatively small and does not visually "pop out" from the rest of the screen.