Game mechanics math problem (armor)

General Discussion
In the recent doomfist update from Mr goodman he says we're got from 6 bullets doing 11 dmg to 11 bullets doing 6 dmg...which is fine...but I've already seen 1 video saying that yes that's the same damage overall except that against armor you will be doing less dmg overall because the armor affects each bullet

Now I'm no math expert but:

(11 x Y%) x 6 = (6 x Y%) x 11 where Y is the how much armor reduces dmg (I don't know actual number)....it's just distributive property no? Or am I not understanding how a game mechanic works
You're forgetting the time it takes to shoot more bulltets.

By that point my target may have healed (slightly) more.
02/08/2018 08:12 AMPosted by linkdude240
You're forgetting the time it takes to shoot more bulltets.

By that point my target may have healed (slightly) more.

Well all we have is the info Geoff gave us...doesn't say anything about them firing faster or slower so I'm assuming it's the same exact rate...and each individual shot does the same exact amount of damage
02/08/2018 08:06 AMPosted by Baja
(11 x Y%) x 6 = (6 x Y%) x 11 where Y is the how much armor reduces dmg (I don't know actual number)....it's just distributive property no? Or am I not understanding how a game mechanic works

Armor reduces anything that does 10 or more damage by 5, while anything 10 or less does half damage.

So at 11 damage per 6 pellets, the damage becomes 36 on an armored target.
(11-5) * 6 = 6 * 6 = 36

Meanwhile, with 11 pellets at 6 damage, the damage is 33 on an armored target.
(6 * .5) * 11 = 3 * 11 = 33

It's essentially a minor nerf because armor isn't a flat % reduction across the board. That's why just trying to go straight up distributive property doesn't work. The value of Y isn't a constant for every scenario.
Armor does not reduce damage in a constant way. If you do more than 10 damage it is reduce by 5, if you do less than 10 damage it is halved instead.

So its:
(11-5)*6= 36
vs